Sign in to follow this  
Flying_Monkey

Hello everyone...

I've just joined and didn't see this section at first...

I'm a lecturer at a British university and a visiting fellow at a famous university in Tokyo. My wife is Japanese and we divide our time between Japan and the UK. I've been watching sumo on and off since they used to show it on television in the UK in the late 1980s, when I was fortunate enough to witness the great Chiyonofuji, whose career, style, attitude and physical abilities will never be bettered IMHO.

Being a little guy myself, I have always been a fan of the smaller and/or more compact rikishi: Kyokudozan, Maenoumi, Kaiho, Ama, and so on. But I have also developed a big interest in the Mongolians, especially their attempt to bring cunning and exciting throwing techniques back into sumo starting with Kyokushuzan in the 1990s. I am amazed he is still going and keeping up his record of a winning record in one basho followed by an impressive losing record in the next! And of course Asa...

My current favourite is Hakuho, who I have watching for a while, and predicted he would get to Yokuzuna ages back. I still think he will now he seems to be over his injury-hit last year.

My other main interests: I am a fanatical cyclist (and often to be seen passing in a blur on the banks of the Arakawa river!), futsal player and practitioner of kung-fu. I also did judo for many years but it did my knees in. I write poetry, and have a huge appetite for literature and philosophy from all cultures, and I am a practising Buddhist. Oh, and I love cooking, especially south-east Asian stuff and shojin ryori.

Pleased to meet you all. I will be checking in here now and again, especially during bashos.

Edited by Flying_Monkey

Welcome to the forum F.M (Hugging...)

Chuck in your salt (Chucking salt...) and join the fray.

We have at least 3 things in common-

1/ I too got into sumo from watching sumo on British tv in the late 80's.

(Nodding yes...)