Akinomaki

Kyushu 2021 discussion

Recommended Posts

Terutsuyoshi's botched ashitori attempt looked like Hattorizakura taking a dive against that big scary opponent.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, yohcun said:

Terutsuyoshi's botched ashitori attempt looked like Hattorizakura taking a dive against that big scary opponent.

For Hattorizakura, all opponents were big and scary.

Cheap win for Kotoeko, but hei'll take it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

At the start of the broadcast when they flashed Hakuho's info: when he entered sumo, his record, when he became Yokozuna, etc. 

I found it amusing that among his stellar records was his total number of kinboshi: 

1. 

Edited by Kaninoyama
  • Haha 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Re: Kisenosato 

I always thought that, despite the disappointment that brought his Yokozuna run, his career is a great hero's tale. It's a story of amazing victory and an extreme downfall, ultimately ending in the hero's demise. The tragedy in it will probably help his legacy ultimately, as might his inspiring presence after his active career. It's also debatable whether the injury management would have been different or if Kisenosato would have gone intai after dropping out of Makuuchi or even earlier. Plus it seems like retirement has lifted the weight of the world off his shoulders. 

Good to see Kotoeko get a win. I'm also happy about any Ura win, but him using a henka feels like a rare thing, I sure hope there's no injury playing into his weapon of choice today. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 minutes ago, Kaninoyama said:

At the start of the broadcast when they flashed Hakuho's info: when he entered sumo, his record, when he became Yokozuna, etc. 

I found it amusing that among his stellar records was his total number of kinboshi: 

1. 

If you're really on the up and up, ain't nobody got time to stick around in the joi to farm kinboshi.

Among active rikishi with a considerable sanyaku pedigree, Mitakeumi has a similarly lousy number of kinboshi (2) for the same reason. The active kinboshi record holders are, I believe, Ichinojo and Endo with about 7-8 apiece, and they're streaky as hell.

Edited by Seiyashi
  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yep, Hak only had 3 kinboshi eligible matches (all vs Asa) because he spent so little time as a maegashira. 

Edited by Katooshu
  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 minutes ago, Katooshu said:

Yep, Hak only had 3 kinboshi eligible matches (all vs Asa) because he spent so little time as a maegashira. 

And he only had one yokozuna to farm them off, too. Ichinojo and Endo, by comparison, had 3-4 yokozuna to fight for kinboshi.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Felt like a bit of a gift to Takakeisho, to me both looked to be out at the same time. 

Edit: I didn't see the hairpull, but was this part of the decision? (I don't know Japanese besides singular words) 

Edited by Thorbjarn

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Not a question of who was out: Ichinojo was ruled to have committed hansoku by hairpull. Ichinojo looking black as thunder, and even Takakeisho looks bewildered at how he won. But oooh, it's crystal on the replay, although that's a bit early in the bout than most of us were probably looking.

Edited by Seiyashi
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, Thorbjarn said:

Felt like a bit of a gift to Takakeisho, to me both looked to be out at the same time.  

Hairpull DQ.

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 minutes ago, Thorbjarn said:

Felt like a bit of a gift to Takakeisho, to me both looked to be out at the same time. 

I agree. I am honestly rooting for a Takakeisho Yusho but this decision was unfair. Ichinojo just accidentally stomped out first (because he's massive) but Takakeisho was plainly flying out without any active movement. What I would interpret as a "dead man". A redo would have been the fairest decision in my opinion.

EDIT: Sorry, I didn't see the hairpull myself.

Edited by Hankegami
  • Confused 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 minutes ago, Hankegami said:
7 minutes ago, Thorbjarn said:

Felt like a bit of a gift to Takakeisho, to me both looked to be out at the same time. 

I agree. I am honestly rooting for a Takakeisho Yusho but this decision was unfair. Ichinojo just accidentally stomped out first (because he's massive) but Takakeisho was plainly flying out without any active movement. What I would interpret as a "dead man". A redo would have been the fairest decision in my opinion.

Ichinojo lost by hairpull, very early on in the bout. If not for the hairpull, Takakeisho was almost certainly dead body even if Ichinojo's foot touched down earlier. To be fair, I don't think any of us expect to have to look for a hairpull that early, and before a lengthy standoff to boot too.

That being said, the fact that there was a mono-ii was probably important; apparently according to Herouth, the hansoku should have been called way earlier, and the fact it wasn't called means that everyone probably missed it. If not for the mono-ii giving the video room time to spot the hansoku and relay that to Isegahama, Ichinojo would probably have won.

Edited by Seiyashi

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, Thorbjarn said:

Good catch, didn't even see it in real time. Pretty blatant in the replay. 

Had nothing to do with the bout outcome though, just some inadvertent grab - the shimpan found something to save Takekeisho

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, Seiyashi said:

Ichinojo lost by hairpull, very early on in the bout. If not for the hairpull, Takakeisho was almost certainly dead body even if Ichinojo's foot touched down earlier.

Yup. I edited my post as early as I read your replies. By the way, it is not possible to the referees to call out the bout as early as they see the hair pull? I did my judgement because I coudn't see any foul during the final rush.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 minutes ago, Seiyashi said:

Ichinojo lost by hairpull, very early on in the bout.

It just seems odd the two men fought for about three minutes when the bout was effectively over. Annoying for Ichi and unnecessarily painful for Takakeisho.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, Faustonowaka said:

Ichinojo was robbed. The “hairpull” had no influence on the outcome of the bout

As gets mentioned every time it comes up, it’s irrelevant. If something is against the rules, it’s against the rules at any point in the bout, not just the moment of victory. Think of like in other sports like football: if a player commits a red card offense, it’s a red card offense and he gets sent off regardless of what impact the offense had on the opposition’s chance to score a goal.

Edited by Eikokurai
  • Like 5

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Neither could most of us watching, to be fair. And I think they are supposed to. I also edited my post afterwards, but the working theory is that the mono-ii for the foot gave the video room time to spot the hansoku while rewinding the tape - and so it was called.

That said I have no idea how everyone managed to miss a pull that was so blatant in both NHK's and Abema's replays. Either the gyoji or the shimpan or both have something to answer for, if they were supposed to have stopped the bout early.

Edited by Seiyashi

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I noticed it when i was watching. Though I wasn't sure they are going to call it. I don't think shinpan haven't noticed it. I think they also decided to wait for the end of the bout and check it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 minutes ago, Faustonowaka said:

Ichinojo was robbed. The “hairpull” had no influence on the outcome of the bout

Ichinojo pulled the hair in the moment Taka was trying to separate from him. Because of the hairpull Ichinojo was able to grab the mawashi in the first place. 

Also is inrelevant, if you brake the rules - you brake the rules. 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now