Seiyashi

2021 "Kozumo" Hatsu Basho discussion thread

Recommended Posts

Good for Sakigake. His first yusho at any level. He looked on a mission through all his playoff matches, so I'm glad he managed it.

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, Asashosakari said:

Oldest guy in the field wins the playoff. Sure, why not.

And he took part in the elimination match, so he had to fight 4 times. Well done Sakigake.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Those 3 playoffs were certainly an interesting spectacle. Especially the 9-man knockout format Makushita kettei-sen. I’ve  never seen the like. Took the sting out of Tsurugisho’s anticlimactic win by fusensho in Juryo. I hope Ikioi will heal up, but his career is winding down, methinks. Still have Makuuchi to go. This basho has already brought its share of novelty and been a real treat to watch.

Edited by since_94

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 minutes ago, since_94 said:

I hope Ikioi will heal up, but his career is winding down, methinks.

I think that's the first time ever that he has missed a match. Not looking good.

  • Like 1
  • Sad 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, Tigerboy1966 said:

I think that's the first time ever that he has missed a match. Not looking good.

I heard broken arm. So at least not a throwing in of the proverbial towel after a MK and likely demotion.

  • Sad 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
17 minutes ago, Tigerboy1966 said:

I think that's the first time ever that he has missed a match. Not looking good.

Indeed, it was, which is remarkable. Though at least he keeps intact his record of never having a third column in his basho results. Since it was a final day absence, it simply goes down as a fusenpai, not a kyujo, i.e. 6-9, not 6-8-1.

Edited by Eikokurai
Fixed numbers

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

25 minutes ago, since_94 said:

I heard broken arm. So at least not a throwing in of the proverbial towel after a MK and likely demotion.

When it's really a broken arm, anything else but intai would be a surprise. He can barely walk and demotion to makushita is imminent. With a waifu (said in a respectful way) like he's got, there is no financial need to fight himself back up to the salaried ranks. So why not seize the opportunity?

Come on, they really could have given Akiseyama that sansho unconditionally. He deserves it and those 2 million yen won't hurt you.  *angryhissingatthelizardpeople*

Edit: AND THEN YOU ROBBED HIM! KAGAYAKI WAS DOWN FIRST, A BLIND MAN COULD HAVE SEEN THAT WITH HIS BACK TO THE ACTION! *hisssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss*

Edited by Benihana
  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ah ... Akiseyama denied his fighting spirit prize, which is a shame because that was a fine amiuchi attempt in the original bout.

Kotonowaka follows. Not a good day for the sansho contenders so far.

Edit: I forgot about Midorifuji. He got his at least.

Edited by Eikokurai

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
11 minutes ago, Benihana said:

 

When it's really a broken arm, anythng else but intai would be a surprise. He can barely walk and demotion to makushita is imminent. With a waifu like he's got, there is no financial need to fight himself back up to the salaried ranks. So why not seize the opportunity.

Come on, they really could have given Akiseyama that sansho unconditionally. He deserves it and those 2 million yen won't hurt you.  *angryhissingatthelizardpeople*

Edit: AND THEN YOU ROBBED HIM! KAGAYAKI WAS DOWN FIRST, A BLIND MAN COULD HAVE SEEN THAT WITH HIS BACK TO THE ACTION! *hisssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss*

Rikishi on the attack will be given consideration when so close in real time. Even though Kagayaki hit first a replay was inevitable.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
13 minutes ago, Benihana said:

AND THEN YOU ROBBED HIM! KAGAYAKI WAS DOWN FIRST, A BLIND MAN COULD HAVE SEEN THAT WITH HIS BACK TO THE ACTION! *hisssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss*

Dunno. Haven’t watched replays beyond what the stream showed but my feeling was torinaoshi was the right call. Was rooting for Akiseyama for sure, tough.

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, specialweek 2 said:

Rikishi on the attack will be given consideration when so close in real time. Even though Kagayaki hit first a replay was inevitable.

Akiseyama's amiuchi: Am i a joke to you?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 minutes ago, Benihana said:

Akiseyama's amiuchi: Am i a joke to you?

Not sure why you would say that but telling you from my experience I understand why torinaoshi was called.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, Kaninoyama said:

Glad to see Midorifuji has a shot at a gino-sho. 

Hopefully he can add one more kata-sukashi win today to cap off an impressive Makuuchi debut. 

Mission accomplished. 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Kotoshoho gets his second win while losing. Just about sums up his basho.

First time since Hatsu 2002 that Makuuchi has had more than one isamiashi.

Edited by Eikokurai

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 minutes ago, specialweek 2 said:

Not sure why you would say that but telling you from my experience I understand why torinaoshi was called.

Because one could seriously argue if it was amiuchi by Akiseyama. Yes, Kagayaki was attacking, but Akiseyama applied a throw at the same time. And Kagayaki was below the plane of the dohyo before Akiseyama. Yes, torinaoshi indeed IS an option, but not a must in this situation. And letting the decision stand would have been a generous nod to Akiseyama and what he accomplished.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 minutes ago, Benihana said:

Because one could seriously argue if it was amiuchi by Akiseyama. Yes, Kagayaki was attacking, but Akiseyama applied a throw at the same time. And Kagayaki was below the plane of the dohyo before Akiseyama. Yes, torinaoshi indeed IS an option, but not a must in this situation. And letting the decision stand would have been a generous nod to Akiseyama and what he accomplished.

Plane of the dohyo is not a consideration. Judges don't call a bout taking sansho prizes into consideration. I understand your frustration.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
23 hours ago, Kaninoyama said:

Had a feeling Daieisho had the easier path to yusho given Shodai's remaining opponents. He has performed the best throughout this basho. If he can finish it off tomorrow, it will be a well-deserved yusho. 

Mission accomplished. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Waka III curse remains in tact!  Sorry Shodai...

Edited by Amamaniac
  • Haha 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 minutes ago, specialweek 2 said:

Plane of the dohyo is not a consideration. Judges don't call a bout taking sansho prizes into consideration. I understand your frustration.

History shows this is discussable, but there's no way to change the outcome. Thank you for your understanding!

 

Daieisho yusho! Congratulations!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So many missions accomplished, so little time. Do we keep watching now?

Yes, of course we do. 

We are so lucky to be able to enjoy our favorite sport—and a tournament of this quality and entertainment value in particular— in times like these. Hats of to the NSK and all the rikishi and oyakata and support staff  for making it happen, perhaps against the odds and perhaps even against the dictates of prudence, from a public health perspective.

Edited by since_94
  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Did anyone else think Hokutofuji didn't have one of his hands down at the tachiai? Frustrating how that's occasionally not enforced.

Edited by SumoLyubo
spelling

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 minutes ago, SumoLyubo said:

Did anyone else think Hokutofuji didn't have one of his hands down at the tachiai? Frustrating how that's occasionally not enforced.

Initially I thought Ichinojo jumped the gun, but in the replay it seemed okay. Hokutofuji just reacted slowly.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
7 minutes ago, SumoLyubo said:

Did anyone else think Hokutofuji didn't have one of his hands down at the tachiai? Frustrating how that's occasionally not enforced.

Many hope, that no hand down will be standard again in the future. Not only would it avoid many cracking coconuts, it would probably mean more yotsu-sumo, too. I like a good slapfight, but it's getting a bit out of hands nowadays, isn't it?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now