Eikokurai

Studying Japanese through Sumo

(This belongs in the Japan-Japanese section but for some reason I can only start a poll there, not a thread. Mods, if you can help me move this, that would be great.)

I’ve recently started studying Japanese again more seriously after a very long break. I’m a classic false beginner in that I studied it for about 9-10 months in 2007 but can’t consciously recall very much of it. So I have a foundation in the language and as part of my new study approach I’ve decided to focus on learning to talk about what interests me: sumo. I thought I’d start a thread in case anyone else on the forum is interested in joining in.

Basically, the idea is to study Japanese as one normally would in terms of grammar patterns and the like, but use sumo as the context for practice sentences. For example, to practice making comparatives I’ve written the following random sentences:

の方が B より () Adj (です)

A is (much) more Adj than B.

大相撲の方がMMAより面白いです。Ozumo no hō ga MMA yori omoshiroii desu.

Sumo is more interesting than MMA.

本場所の方が巡業よりも大切です。Honbasho no hō ga jungyo yori mo taisetsu desu.

Tournaments are much more important than regional tours.

関取の方が取り的より強く、上手いです。Sekitori no hō ga toriteki yori tsuyoku, umai desu. 

Sekitori are stronger and more skillful than non-salaried wrestlers.

曙の方が舞の海よりずっと背が高く、重いでした。Akebono no hō ga Mainoumi yori zutto sei ga takaku, omoi deshita.

Akebono was much taller and heavier than Mainoumi.

吊り出しの方が押し出しよりも珍しい決まり手です。Tsuridashi no hō ga oshidashi yori mo mezurashii kimarite desu.

Frontal lift out is a much rarer kimarite than frontal push out.

砂被りの方が自由席よりうっと高く、得難いです。Sunakaburi no hō ga jiyuseki yori zutto takaku,  egatai desu.

Ringside seats are much more expensive and harder to come by than the unreserved seats.

And so on.