Sign in to follow this  
Rainoyama

Rikishi calling a mono-ii

Recommended Posts

Posted (edited)

In the latest chapter of the excellent manga Hinomaru zumo, a rikishi sitting ringside calls a mono-ii instead of the shinpan. The manga is very well documented so I assume it's possible, just very rare, but the explanation given is a bit contradictory so I'd like to hear the thoughts  of the knowledgeable people on the forum.

The explanation given is that although the shinpan are the only ones allowed in the discussion, rikishi sitting ringside awaiting for their bout can also call the mono-ii. The only problem is that the guy calling is not waiting for his bout but already fought (the bout is the musubi no ban). The chapter was translated in english, so maybe it was a mistranslation but do you think it's possible ?

Edited by Rainoyama

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

Sitting dohyo-side after having competed in the previous match, Hakuho called one in May 2014 for Goeido vs Kakuryu, and the initial ruling was overturned on a hairpull. Perhaps potential to be the GOAT shinpan as well?

 

Edited by Katooshu
  • Thanks 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
11 minutes ago, Katooshu said:

Sitting dohyo-side after having competed in the previous match, Hakuho called one in May 2014 for Goeido vs Kakuryu, and the initial ruling was overturned on a hairpull. Perhaps potential to be the GOAT shinpan as well? 

 

Thank you so much !  So it was either a mistranslation or the explanation was not clear enough for the translator !

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
46 minutes ago, Rainoyama said:

In the latest chapter of the excellent manga Hinomaru zumo, a rikishi sitting ringside calls a mono-ii instead of the shinpan. The manga is very well documented so I assume it's possible, just very rare, but the explanation given is a bit contradictory so I'd like to hear the thoughts  of the knowledgeable people on the forum.

The explanation given is that although the shinpan are the only ones allowed in the discussion, rikishi sitting ringside awaiting for their bout can also call the mono-ii. The only problem is that the guy calling is not waiting for his bout but already fought (the bout is the musubi no ban). The chapter was translated in english, so maybe it was a mistranslation but do you think it's possible ?

Actually some rikishi call monoii on their own bouts (Whistling...)

  • Like 1
  • Haha 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, Rainoyama said:

In the latest chapter of the excellent manga Hinomaru zumo, a rikishi sitting ringside calls a mono-ii instead of the shinpan. The manga is very well documented so I assume it's possible, just very rare, but the explanation given is a bit contradictory so I'd like to hear the thoughts  of the knowledgeable people on the forum.

The explanation given is that although the shinpan are the only ones allowed in the discussion, rikishi sitting ringside awaiting for their bout can also call the mono-ii. The only problem is that the guy calling is not waiting for his bout but already fought (the bout is the musubi no ban). The chapter was translated in english, so maybe it was a mistranslation but do you think it's possible ?

It's a misinterpretation of "waiting ringside for their bouts".  Those that fight in the ante-penultimate and penultimate matches of the day have to stay and sit ring side until the day is done since there is no one to replace them as the two ringside rikishi.  Those rikishi can call a mono-ii as noted above, even though they aren't actually waiting for their own bouts, but waiting for the day to finish.

Why do there have to be two rikishi ringside for every match?  Not my department.

Edited by Gurowake

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, Gurowake said:

Why do there have to be two rikishi ringside for every match?  

At the end of the day, they're probably present in case a yokozuna loses, to protect the shimpan between them from being hit by flying zabutons. Since the shimpan are highly respected members of the sumo community, they rate being protected by two, not just one rikishi.

On the other hand, because of some recent highly questionable decisions, it may be a good idea to have the shimpan stay ringside with as little protection as possible. That way, the public can voice its displeasure with those decisions by throwing pillows at them. Such a situation could be callled the "Tochinoshin Procedure". :-)

Edited by sekitori

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
14 hours ago, Gurowake said:

Why do there have to be two rikishi ringside for every match?  Not my department.

Someone who hasn't lost has to offer the incoming rikishi the chikara-mizu.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

The shimpan sitting on the east and west sides do tend to get landed on a lot, it might have something to do with that as well. Having a couple young, strong, and large guys handy to catch people going over the side after densha-michi tachi ai, etc.

Edited by Churaumi

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Sue said:

Someone who hasn't lost has to offer the incoming rikishi the chikara-mizu.

Yes, but we're talking about at the end of the day when there are no more incoming rikishi.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Churaumi said:

The shimpan sitting on the east and west sides do tend to get landed on a lot, it might have something to do with that as well. Having a couple young, strong, and large guys handy to catch people going over the side after densha-michi tachi ai, etc.

The Laws Of Physics reject that idea.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In the old, wilder days of team sumo, team members were there to protect and support the participants.  As the matches became more civilized, the presence of two "team members" became a symbolic gesture much like the sword bearer and dew sweeper for the yokozuna dohyo-iri.

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So the japanese version of said chapter is finally out and the expression used is 力士  "rikishi waiting on the side" or "waiting for their turn" depending on the context so the translator just made a small mistake 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this