Sign in to follow this  
Jesse Stoll

RINGSIDE SEATS for Natsu Basho

I purchased these tickets (attached) to the Spring Basho - Very excited as it is my first time watching sumo live and I have wanted to go to a tournament for years. A few questions - I was told that the attached tickets purchased are Ringside.. Can someone please verify if these really are ringside and where I will be sitting exactly? Also, is it likely that both Hakuho and Kisenosato will be fighting in May?

Thank you!

Edited by Jakusotsu
Please try to attach your picture again. The original link was broken.

Those are tickets for day 14 of the summer ("Natsu") basho - spring basho was in March. The tickets are not exactly ringside ("tamariseki"), but masuseki which cover the whole ground floor beyond the ringside seats. Going by the price tag they should be masuseki B (they range from A to C) and I think row 11 in the front view section (shomen), so you got a very nice day and block of seats. If you can call them seats, as they are without chairs, it's just a block for 4 to sit on the floor, Japanese style, which can be tight and uncomfortable for typical Western size and mobility.

It is likely that Hakuho and Kisenosato participate, but both are coming off injuries right now, so you don't really know for sure, especially if they are still actiive on day 14 or not.

• Like 5

Yes Box B. That is the マスB on the ticket. 

Box B is really close though, anyone here would be ecstatic to have that ticket, esp on a day where yokozuna are probably facing each other.

The sumo arena in Tokyo is quite small compared to western sports arenas.

• Like 2

So you know for the future, genuine ringside seats at the Kokugikan are generally not available to the public but are "owned" by VIPs and ozumo supporters. If you could get them, they'd certainly cost more than 10,600 yen. Anyone claiming to be selling "ringside" seats either doesn't know what that word means in English, or is fibbing.