Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
PawnSums

Banzuke Dellima

5 posts in this topic

If there is no Ozeki, then the yokozuna become yokozuna-ozeki

If there is no yokozuna, the JSA doesn't give a damn.

But what if there are no Ozeki, AND no Yokozuna to become Y/O?

I've Wanted to know this for so long.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There have to be two Ozeki by rule. That means someone could get promoted with a much weaker record.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted (edited)

4 hours ago, Sakura said:

There have to be two Ozeki by rule. That means someone could get promoted with a much weaker record.

.. or an existing yokozuna would not be allowed to retire. The rule is that there are required on the banzuke, but there is no rule that they have to mount the dohyo.

Edited by Asojima

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's kind of hard to imagine a situation where you have little to no Yokozuna or Ozeki and there isn't other sanyaku already winning in double digits regularly already. I mean somebody has to win right? They get promoted.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
45 minutes ago, Rocks said:

It's kind of hard to imagine a situation where you have little to no Yokozuna or Ozeki and there isn't other sanyaku already winning in double digits regularly already. I mean somebody has to win right? They get promoted.

But maybe just the basho where all go intai, the sanyaku have all makekoshi: a jump from maegashira to ozeki would be really a fun situation

3 people like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0