Sign in to follow this  
Rusev

Training schedule for beginner

Hello Sumo Friends!

I dont want to be booring with all the bla bla stuff about me, so i will be short. I recently started training and to be honest i won just 1 keiko match from maybe 30 (the guy was 40kg lighter than me). I am big sumo fan and i really want to advance. My dream is to participate in amature tournament.

Do you have any suggestions about excersises that i could use to better my balance (except shiko, that one i know its a must), in general i am in the training facility 3 days a week, but i would like to put extra work to become better. I know that i need time, i would really appreciate if someone can actually pull out a training regime of some Heya maybe ?

I hope this message makes sense.

Thank you guys and gals, i appreciate you reading all of this.

Hi Rusev,

As Naganoyama mentioned, you can check out the NSK site for Sumo exercises, although the instructions are rather vague, and really only useful if you already know what to do.

I have taught Sumo conditioning exercises to jiu-jutsu and karate students, as well as to other athletes (mostly distance runners) over the past several years, and in 2013 I produced an introductory Sumo-based fitness DVD called "SumoFit: Suppleness + Strength + Stability". It's available on my website (www.sumofit.com), but only in the USA region format. However, you can download the free exercise tutorial from the DVD and incorporate the exercises into your current training regimen.

Shiko is definitely the best exercise for improving flexibility, strength, stability, and balance (there's a difference between "stability" and "balance"). Shinkyaku (squatting single-leg stretch), Matawari (Sumo split), Suriashi (sliding feet), Sonkyo (raised heel squat), and Kinsei (forward shuffle) are all good exercises for improving your Sumo -- or any other martial art, for that matter!