Sign in to follow this  

Day 6 results and day 7 pairings, Makuuchi and Juryo

Recommended Posts

Kotoshogiku stayed the sole leader with a win over dangerous Aminishiki while only Aoiyama and Kaisei fell out of the big pursuer group, both with a second consecutive loss. Myogiryu maybe even more dangerous than Aminishiki as he beat Harumafuji and is 3-3 now, facing only ozeki and the yokozuna. Chiyotairyu also is doing well in his first makuuchi basho, beating Bulgarian Aoiyama for his fifth win, while the other shin-makuuchi Kimikaze fell to Tamawashi.

The random nature of the juryo yusho race continued with only two of the six leaders getting a win, so Tamaasuka and Homarefuji lead with 5-1, with seven pursuers. Asahisho had hopes of getting to makuuchi, but a 0-6 start is a heavy burden for the lead juryo, while the same 0-6 already means demotion danger for Satoyama. Masakaze got a break through with his first win in a juryo bout after ten losses. After some mean sql I can confirm that this is indeed a new record since 1909 (when sekitori bouts in Sumo Reference start). The really old record was nine bouts before the first win in 1917 (actually with a draw and eight losses) from Onuma.


J12e    Masakaze (1-5)          sukuinage       J14e    Hokutokuni (3-3)
Ms1e    Arawashi (2-2)          yoritaoshi      J12w    Jokoryu (2-4)
J13w    Homarefuji (5-1)        oshidashi       J10e    Satoyama (0-6)
J14w    Kitaharima (3-3)        tsukiotoshi     J10w    Masuraumi (2-4)
J13e    Tokushoryu (3-3)        yorikiri        J8e     Bushuyama (3-3)
J6w     Tosayutaka (4-2)        oshidashi       J9w     Kimurayama (4-2)
J5e     Kyokushuho (4-2)        yorikiri        J11e    Tokushinho (3-3)
J11w    Kokkai (4-2)            kotenage        J5w     Sagatsukasa (2-4)
J4e     Takanoyama (3-3)        tsukiotoshi     J9e     Nionoumi (2-4)
J3w     Yoshiazuma (3-3)        oshidashi       J7w     Oiwato (3-3)
J2e     Ikioi (3-3)             oshidashi       J8w     Chiyootori (2-4)
J2w     Tamaasuka (5-1)         yorikiri        J7e     Sotairyu (4-2)
J6e     Takamisakari (3-3)      katasukashi     J1e     Asahisho (0-6)
J3e     Hochiyama (3-3)         tsukiotoshi     J1w     Masunoyama (4-2)


M16e    Takarafuji (5-1)        oshitaoshi      J4w     Kotoyuki (4-2)
M15w    Tamawashi (5-1)         oshidashi       M13w    Kimikaze (2-4)
M12w    Daido (4-2)             uwatedashinage  M12e    Kaisei (4-2)
M11e    Shotenro (3-3)          oshidashi       M15e    Fujiazuma (2-4)
M9w     Yoshikaze (1-5)         tsukiotoshi     M14e    Asasekiryu (3-3)
M7w     Kyokutenho (3-3)        yorikiri        M13e    Tenkaiho (2-4)
M6e     Wakakoyu (4-2)          hatakikomi      M11w    Sadanofuji (2-4)
M10w    Chiyotairyu (5-1)       oshidashi       M6w     Aoiyama (4-2)
M5e     Okinoumi (5-1)          yoritaoshi      M8e     Tochinoshin (3-3)
M7e     Shohozan (2-4)          oshidashi       M5w     Miyabiyama (1-5)
M4e     Tochiozan (5-1)         oshidashi       M10e    Wakanosato (3-3)

M9e     Tokitenku (2-4)         yorikiri        M4w     Tochinowaka (1-5)
M3w     Takekaze (1-5)          oshidashi       M8w     Kitataiki (2-4)
S1e     Toyonoshima (4-2)       oshitaoshi      M1w     Takayasu (0-6)
O3e     Kotooshu (3-3)          yorikiri        M1e     Aran (0-6)
O2w     Kotoshogiku (6-0)       oshidashi       K1w     Aminishiki (3-3)
O2e     Kisenosato (5-1)        tsukiotoshi     S1w     Goeido (3-3)
O1w     Baruto (5-1)            yorikiri        M3e     Toyohibiki (3-3)
M2e     Myogiryu (3-3)          yorikiri        O1e     Harumafuji (3-3)
O3w     Kakuryu (5-1)           hatakikomi      K1e     Homasho (0-6)
Y1e     Hakuho (5-1)            uwatenage       M2w     Gagamaru (2-4)

Day 7


Ms1w    Takanoiwa (2-1)                         J14w    Kitaharima (3-3)
J13e    Tokushoryu (3-3)                        J13w    Homarefuji (5-1)
J12e    Masakaze (1-5)                          J10w    Masuraumi (2-4)
J10e    Satoyama (0-6)                          J14e    Hokutokuni (3-3)
J8e     Bushuyama (3-3)                         J11e    Tokushinho (3-3)
J12w    Jokoryu (2-4)                           J5w     Sagatsukasa (2-4)
J5e     Kyokushuho (4-2)                        J11w    Kokkai (4-2)
J9w     Kimurayama (4-2)                        J4w     Kotoyuki (4-2)
J7e     Sotairyu (4-2)                          J3w     Yoshiazuma (3-3)
J3e     Hochiyama (3-3)                         J9e     Nionoumi (2-4)
J6e     Takamisakari (3-3)                      J2w     Tamaasuka (5-1)
J2e     Ikioi (3-3)                             J7w     Oiwato (3-3)
J6w     Tosayutaka (4-2)                        J1w     Masunoyama (4-2)
J1e     Asahisho (0-6)                          J8w     Chiyootori (2-4)


M15e    Fujiazuma (2-4)                         J4e     Takanoyama (3-3)
M12e    Kaisei (4-2)                            M14e    Asasekiryu (3-3)
M16e    Takarafuji (5-1)                        M10w    Chiyotairyu (5-1)
M10e    Wakanosato (3-3)                        M13w    Kimikaze (2-4)
M15w    Tamawashi (5-1)                         M9w     Yoshikaze (1-5)
M8e     Tochinoshin (3-3)                       M12w    Daido (4-2)
M7e     Shohozan (2-4)                          M13e    Tenkaiho (2-4)
M11w    Sadanofuji (2-4)                        M6w     Aoiyama (4-2)
M6e     Wakakoyu (4-2)                          M11e    Shotenro (3-3)
M9e     Tokitenku (2-4)                         M5w     Miyabiyama (1-5)
M5e     Okinoumi (5-1)                          M7w     Kyokutenho (3-3)

M4e     Tochiozan (5-1)                         M8w     Kitataiki (2-4)
M4w     Tochinowaka (1-5)                       M1w     Takayasu (0-6)
K1e     Homasho (0-6)                           K1w     Aminishiki (3-3)
M1e     Aran (0-6)                              O3w     Kakuryu (5-1)
O3e     Kotooshu (3-3)                          M2w     Gagamaru (2-4)
M2e     Myogiryu (3-3)                          O2w     Kotoshogiku (6-0)
O2e     Kisenosato (5-1)                        M3w     Takekaze (1-5)
S1w     Goeido (3-3)                            O1w     Baruto (5-1)
O1e     Harumafuji (3-3)                        S1e     Toyonoshima (4-2)
Y1e     Hakuho (5-1)                            M3e     Toyohibiki (3-3)

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Asahisho 0-6.... is he hurt? how did he ever make it to the top of Juryo? his sumo has not been good.

As always, thanks for your results posts!

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this