Sign in to follow this  
Kaikitsune Makoto

Methamphetamine in Japan

Japan is unique in that methamphetamine in 100% pure form was freely available after second world war. Japan's military left huge storages of meth and i.v usage was common and was sold legally in pharmacies. Then declaration came "Meth brings national ruin" in 1954 and police and other authorities got rid of the problem. Yakuza then started another epidemy in 1980s and in 1990s again.

Do you know methamphetamine? It is more potent than amphetamine. Psychosis can occur. Meth psychosis is not nice for anyone. People get violent, paranoid, unpredictable and often use knives to get rid of bugs under the skin.

Japanese drug addicts have been rather loyal to meth although lately cocaine, cannabis and others have become more common.

Yes, meth is a big problem in North America as well. Price wars with crack cocain. Crazy stuff. Don't touch either as I hear it is instant addiction (luckily I have no experience with them).

Yes, meth is a big problem in North America as well. Price wars with crack cocain. Crazy stuff. Don't touch either as I hear it is instant addiction (luckily I have no experience with them).

I am so full of meth that it has totally ran my life for the past weeks but only a handful of forum members know why :-)

Methamphetamine is not physically so addictive actually. More so mentally. There is no severe physical withdrawal syndrome like there is in case of heroine for example. Meth is HUGE in Oceania. Australians sure like to go high on meth. 1,2% of ALL ER visits in one big hospital in Australia were meth related and that is a quite something.

Japan has many veteran meth addicts who have used for decades. Many of them have persistent psychosis.

Meth is HUGE in Oceania. Australians sure like to go high on meth. 1,2% of ALL ER visits in one big hospital in Australia were meth related and that is a quite something.